| En Español

Single Blog Title

This is a single blog caption

Electronic Smoking Devices Join Smoke-Free Laws – Community Successes!

These communities throughout Colorado are standing up for the health of Coloradans by including electronic smoking devices (ESD) in their smoke-free laws: Arvada, Boulder, Breckenridge, Brighton, Edgewater, Evans, Fort Collins, Frisco, Golden, Greeley, Greenwood Village, Lafayette, Lakewood, Littleton, Louisville and Wheat Ridge.

This means that these cities don’t allow ESDs anywhere that traditional smoking is already banned. And in some of them, that even includes outdoor places to further protect kids!

Littleton and Greenwood Village are two of the most recent successes.

  • Littleton’s ordinance expands the city’s existing smoke-free law to include electronic smoking devices. It also adds specific outdoor areas in historic downtown Littleton, so you can’t smoke or vape on those sidewalks. This went into effect on January 1, 2016.
  • The Greenwood Village’s ordinance added electronic smoking devices to city’s smoke-free law. The additional success is that it also expanded the law to many outdoor areas in the city including parks and trails, outdoor plazas, amphitheaters (including Fiddler’s Green), and transit waiting areas. The Greenwood Village ordinance took effect February 10, 2016.

Here is a map showing Colorado cities that include electronic smoking devices in their smoke-free laws.

Slide1Are you interested in helping to add your city to the map? Help us remove electronic smoking devices from the 303! Visit us today at